Wave Line

Welcome to the 2014 Polar Bear Club!

We had a great turn out with the air temp in the low 30s and surface temp at a bone chilling 48 degrees. We put 25 divers in the water, four of which are Hall Of Fame members, Glenda Hataway, Jeff Loudan, Chuck Perkins and Mike Slicker .

Special thanks to Patti and Brian of International Scuba that won the Best Represented Dive Shop for the 9th time in a row! Their group always shows up in force and are a big part of the Polar Bear Dive. They also provided breakfast for everyone which was Yummy as always! Fins Scuba Club was on hand to warm up the cold bears up with Hot Chocolate! We would also like to thank each and every person that attended the event as you are the reason we do it! Thanks to Allen and Karen Johnson for all you do!

If you have comments, suggestions or any ideas that would make this event better, please drop me an E Mail. Next year we will change the hours up a bit. We will open registration at 10am, open the pool at 12 noon followed by awards at 2pm. This will give us Party Bears a little more sleep before diving.

Dive Safe

Tim Hataway

Best Represented Dive Shop
International Scuba, 9 time winner!
7 time winner

Best Represented Dive Club
Diving Rebels, Three Years Running!
1st time winner

Polar Bear Design Winner
Kristie Blakley
alt text

Long Dive
John Griffin, 1:02
alt text

Oldest Diver!
Karl Renner, 68

Bravest Diver
Amanda Ramirez

Youngest Diver
Cameron Olson, 13 today!
Happy Birthday Cameron!

Longest Drive
Scott Phillips & Sami Musser, 175 miles

Shortest Dive
Erryn Mcgrath, 15 min

Head Bear Checker, Karen Johnson
James Buckley checking in

Bear Masters
Tim Hataway & Allen Johnson
Beary Silly Hat winners

James Buckley with his Kool Dive Van

Thank You Fins Scuba Club
Hot Chocolate Crew

2014 Polar Bears Club.
Click for a larger picture

Thanks to all that made the event, see ya next year!

Robert Cameron
Head Bear


"Beary" Best Represented Dive Shop--Goes to INTERNATIONAL SCUBA
"Beary" Best Represented Dive Club--Goes to DIVING REBELS
"Beary" Long Diving Award--Goes to John Griffin, 1hr 2 min
"Beary" Long Driving Award--Goes to Scott Phillips, 175 miles
"Beary Bravest Award--Goes to Amanda Ramirez
"Beary" Oldest Bear--Goes to Karl Renner, 68
"Beary" Young Bear--Goes to Cameron Olson, 13
"Beary" Wimpy Award--Goes to Erryn Mcgrath, 21 min

Bear Hall of Fame Divers at the 2014 Polar Bear Dive

GLENDA HATAWAY -- 12 Polar Bear Dives

JEFF LOUDAN -- 9 Polar Bear Dives

CHUCK PERKINS -- 9 Polar Bear Dives

MIKE SLICKER -- 7 Polar Bear Dives

PATTI STEWART -- 7 Polar Bear Dives

BRIAN DIVINE -- 7 Polar Bear Dives